Government of Nova Scotia Government of Nova Scotia Nova Scotia, Canada


Recycling and Waste

Municipal Collection Information

Recycling and composting programs may vary throughout the province, depending on where you live. Nova Scotia is divided into seven different solid waste-resource management regions. Please click on your region for specific information on your municipality's program.

For information on reducing, reusing, recycling and composting in your community visit

Nova Scotia Cape Breton Eastern Northern Halifax Regional Municipality South Shore Valley Western

Region 1: Cape Breton

Region 2: Eastern

Region 3: Northern

Region 4: Halifax

Region 5: Valley

Valley Waste Resource Management includes the following municipalities:

  • Annapolis
  • Kings
  • Berwick
  • Bridgetown
  • Hantsport
  • Kentville
  • Middleton
  • Wolfville

Region 6: South Shore/West Hants

Includes the following towns:

  • Barrington
  • Bridgewater
  • Lockeport
  • Lunenburg
  • Mahone Bay
  • Shelburne
  • Windsor

Also included are the following municipality districts:

  • West Hants
  • Chester
  • Lunenburg
  • Queens Region
  • Shelburne

Region 7: Western