This consolidation is unofficial and is for reference only.  For the official version of the regulations, consult the original documents on file with the Registry of Regulations, or refer to the Royal Gazette Part II.
Regulations are amended frequently.  Please check the list of Regulations by Act to see if there are any recent amendments to these regulations filed with our office that are not yet included in this consolidation.
Although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of this electronic version, the Registry of Regulations assumes no responsibility for any discrepancies that may have resulted from reformatting.
This electronic version is copyright © 2016, Province of Nova Scotia, all rights reserved.  It is for your personal use and may not be copied for the purposes of resale in this or any other form.

University Foundations Regulations

made under subsection 15(1) of the

University Foundations Act

S.N.S. 1991, c. 8

O.I.C. 93-333 (April 6, 1993), N.S. Reg. 63/93


1     In these regulations,


                (a)    “Act” means the University Foundations Act;


                (b)    “foundation” means a foundation established pursuant to the Act;


                (c)    “Minister” means the Minister of Education.

[Note: Effective January 11, 2011, the reference to the Minister of Education should be read as a reference to the Minister of Labour and Advanced Education in accordance with Order in Council 2011-15 under the Public Service Act, R.S.N.S. 1989, c. 376.]


2     The following institutions are hereby designated as universities for the purpose of this Act:


                (a)    Acadia University;


                (b)    Atlantic School of Theology;


                (c)    Dalhousie University;


                (d)    Mount Saint Vincent University;


                (e)    Nova Scotia Agricultural College;


                (f)    Nova Scotia College of Art and Design;

Clause 2(g) repealed: O.I.C. 2000-114, N.S. Reg. 49/2000.


                (h)    St. Francis Xavier University;


                (i)     Saint Mary’s University;

Clause 2(j) repealed: O.I.C. 2000-114, N.S. Reg. 49/2000.


                (k)    Université Sainte-Anne;


                (l)     University College of Cape Breton;


                (m)   University of King’s College.


3     (1)    The chair shall preside over all meetings of a foundation.


       (2)    The members of a foundation shall elect a vice-chair.


       (3)    If the chair is absent or unable to act or if the office is vacant, the vice-chair shall exercise and perform all the powers and duties of the chair.


       (4)    A majority of the members of a foundation constitutes a quorum.


4     (1)    A foundation shall meet not less than twice during each fiscal year.


       (2)    Reasonable expenses necessarily incurred by a member of a foundation in connection with the work of the foundation shall be reimbursed at the rates applicable from time to time to members of the public service of the Province.


5     (1)    If a foundation is wound up, assets of the foundation shall


                (a)    firstly, be used to pay the costs of winding up;


                (b)    secondly, be used to pay the liabilities of the foundation;


                (c)    thirdly, with respect to any remaining assets that were gifts, bequests, devises or grants received by a foundation, be transferred to the educational institution for which the foundation was established; and


                (d)    fourthly, be transferred to Her Majesty the Queen in right of the Province.