PREMIER'S OFFICE--Westray Response Committee ----------------------------------------------------------------- The province is committed to a timely evaluation and response on the Westray inquiry report released in Stellarton today, Dec. 1, by Justice Peter Richard. Premier Russell MacLellan today announced the establishment of a cabinet committee to respond to the report and recommendations of the Westray mine public inquiry. "The Westray report is a priority with this government," said the premier. "We are committed to a thorough and thoughtful review and response." The committee is chaired by Don Downe, Minister of Transportation and Public Works, and includes Housing and Municipal Affairs Minister Guy Brown, Justice Minister Alan Mitchell, Labour Minister Gerald O'Malley and Natural Resources Minister Ken MacAskill. Mr. Downe was in Stellarton to receive the report on behalf of government. "We owe it to the families, the miners and all Nova Scotians to provide answers and take action very quickly," said Mr. Downe. "We will give the issues serious attention and serious review." He indicated that a preliminary plan for dealing with the report's recommendations will be announced before Christmas. In May 1992, 26 miners were killed in an explosion at the Westray coal mine, operated by Curragh Resources Inc. of Toronto. The government of then-premier Donald Cameron commissioned the Westray inquiry to examine the cause of the disaster and make recommendations. -30- Contact: Peter MacLellan Office of the Premier 902-424-3750 E-mail: Jennifer MacIsaac 902-424-3219 E-mail: NOTE TO EDITORS: Mr. Downe will be available for comment in Stellarton today. He will also make a brief statement in the legislature at 7 p.m. gam Dec. 1, 1997 11:10 a.m.