Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écossenovascotia.ca
gov.ns.caGouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse Nouvelle-Écosse, Canada
 
Affaires municipales
Texte :  A+ A-

Apprenez-en davantage sur les indicateurs municipaux

Les indicateurs sont des statistiques qui permettent de mesurer la performance d’une municipalité.

Vous pouvez utiliser ces indicateurs pour :

  • mieux comprendre la performance administrative et opérationnelle d’une municipalité;
  • mieux comprendre les principales caractéristiques d’une municipalité;
  • prendre de meilleures décisions;
  • aider les habitants d’une municipalité à mieux comprendre celle-ci.

Par exemple :

En utilisant l’indicateur appelé charge fiscale résidentielle, il est possible de comparer ses impôts fonciers à ceux d’autres municipalités.

Les conseillers d’une municipalité peuvent se servir de l’indicateur lié à la population pour comprendre si le nombre d’habitants baisse ou augmente.

Autre exemple, l’indicateur bris d’aqueduc par Km peut permettre au personnel d’une municipalité d’évaluer l’état des canalisations d’eau.

D’où les données proviennent-elles?

Les données proviennent des sources suivantes :

Rapports financiers municipaux

Les municipalités publient chaque année leurs états financiers. Elles doivent également soumettre des rapports financiers à la Province, y compris les états provisionnels, qui contiennent les taux d’imposition et des données budgétaires, ainsi que le rapport d’information financière, qui contient des données financières de fin d’année. Les données de ces rapports peuvent donc permettre de produire des indicateurs liés par exemple aux recettes fiscales et aux dépenses de fonctionnement totales.

Évaluations foncières

La Property Valuation Services Corporation produit des données sur divers types d’évaluation foncière. Ces données permettent de produire des indicateurs qui,  par exemple, expliquent la croissance de l’assiette fiscale.

Données du recensement fédéral

Les données démographiques proviennent du recensement de Statistique Canada et de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages. Elles peuvent permettre de produire des indicateurs qui, par exemple, expliquent l’évolution de la population et du revenu médian des ménages.

Données de Collectivités en chiffres

Le site Collectivités en chiffres offre également des données démographiques. Cette ressource provinciale offre des données socio-économiques, économiques, environnementales et culturelles provenant de nombreuses sources afin d’illustrer la nature unique de chaque collectivité. Ces données peuvent permettre de produire des indicateurs liés par exemple aux niveaux d’emploi et d’éducation d’une municipalité.

Government of Nova Scotianovascotia.ca
gov.ns.caGovernment of Nova Scotia Nova Scotia, Canada
 
Municipal Affairs
Text Size:  A+ A-

Learn More About Municipal Indicators

Indicators are statistics that can help measure a municipality's performance.

You can use these indicators to:

  • better understand the administrative and operational performance of a municipality
  • better understand key characteristics about the municipality
  • inform the decision-making process
  • help community members better understand the municipality in which they live

For example

Community members can use the residential tax burden indicator to compare their property taxes with property taxes in other municipalities.

Municipal councillors can use the change in population indicator to understand if their community's population is growing or declining.

Municipal staff can use the water main breaks per kilometre indicator to help assess the condition of water pipes in the municipality.

Where does the data come from?

The data is collected from a number of sources, including:

Municipal Financial Reports

Every year municipalities make their financial statements available to the public. They must also submit financial reports to the province, including the Statement of Estimates, which contains tax rate and budget information, and the Financial Information Return, which contains year end reporting on finances. Data from these reports can be used to prepare indicators that show, for example, a municipality’s total tax revenue and their total operating expenditures.

Property Assessments

The Property Valuation Services Corporation prepares information on all types of property assessment in municipalities. This information is used to prepare indicators that explain, for example, growth in the tax base.

Federal Census Data

Demographic information is acquired from Statistics Canada Census and the National Household Survey. This information can be used to prepare indicators that explain, for example, change in total population and median household incomes.

Provincial Community Counts Data

Demographic information is also accessed from Nova Scotia Community Counts. This provincial resource provides a common platform for social, economic, environmental and cultural data from many sources that illustrate the unique nature of each community in Nova Scotia. Data from Community Counts can be used to prepare indicators that show, for example, levels of employment and education in the municipality.